The Environment and Resources

Golf as a game, which takes place in and with nature, is increasingly influenced by issues such as resource conservation, climate change or ecological maintenance. Modern golf course design includes the integration of environmental and nature conservation matters and the precise analysis of trends in the area of sustainability. This is the only way to ensure high quality on a long-term basis. As a member of the Environmental Committee of the German Golf Association, Thomas Himmel volunteers his time to promote environmental issues in German golf.

Sustainable golf course design not only concerns the conservation of resources and the increase of biodiversity on the site, but also the positive integration of a golf course into its social environment. The approval in accordance with concepts of local authorities and professional associations facilitates acceptance in the long term. Our many years of experience of collaborating with nature conservation authorities facilitate a smoother coordination of projects in sensitive regions.

Securing water as a resource by means of sufficient storage ponds, a well planned irrigation system and the right choice of grasses grasses is becoming increasingly important in the wake of climate change. Since access to drinking water will be increasingly curtailed in the future, an exact analysis of the water demand and corresponding planning is crucial for the long-term high quality of a facility.

Restrictive fertilizer and pesticide regulations require golf course designs that meet these new green-keeping challenges. The choice of bushes, trees and grasses must also be designed to accommodate frequent hot spells. At the same time, drainage systems need to be planned to prevent heavy rains and storms from causing longer term non-accessibility to parts of the golf course.

The modern day professional golf course is subject to strong change, which has to do with the development of e-mobility and digitalization in the field of green-keeping and administration. We ensure that a golf course is planned in line with future needs and equipped with modern technology for the long term, regardless whether it is a matter of sprinkling, aeration or the maintenance of size- intensive areas. This all creates more leeway for the green-keeping staff who can then focus on improving the quality of the facility.

The Golf Course as Habitat

The fundamental understanding of the golfing experience encompasses the facilitation of nature. Numerous scientific studies on the development of biodiversity on golf courses have proven that they greatly facilitate the diversity of species. At the same time, this enhances the golfer’s experience of nature on the course, increasing the recreational effect .

We have a full understanding of the golf course as a high-quality sporting facility, which allows an ideal habitat for fauna and flora beyond tees, fairways and greens. The planning of the golf course therefore includes a precise analysis of the areas and locations, the local water conditions, where ultimately the end result is a harmonious combination of golf and nature.

en_GBEnglish

Umwelt und Ressourcen

Golf als Spiel in und mit der Natur wird zunehmend von Themen wie Ressourcenschonung, Klimawandel oder ökologischer Pflege beeinflusst. Modernes Golfplatzdesign beinhaltet die Integration von Umwelt- und Naturschutzbelangen und die genaue Analyse von Trends im Bereich des Segments Nachhaltigkeit. Nur so ist langfristig hohe Qualität erzielbar. Als Mitglied des Umweltausschusses des Deutschen Golf Verbandes setzt Thomas Himmel sich ehrenamtlich für Umweltfragen im deutschen Golfsport ein.

Nachhaltige Golfplatzgestaltung bedeutet nicht nur die Schonung von Ressourcen und die Steigerung der Biodiversität auf dem Gelände, sondern auch die positive Integration eines Golfplatzes in sein soziales Umfeld. Eine Genehmigung in Übereinstimmung mit den Vorstellungen von Kommunen und Fachverbänden erleichtert die Akzeptanz auf Dauer. Die langjährige Erfahrung in der Abstimmung mit Naturschutzbehörden ermöglicht auch die Abstimmung von Projekten in sensiblen Gebieten.

Die Sicherung der Ressource Wasser durch ausreichend Speicherteiche, eine gut geplante Beregnungsanlage und die richtige Gräserwahl wird im Zuge des Klimawandels immer wichtiger. Nachdem der Zugriff auf Trinkwasser in Zukunft zunehmend gedrosselt wird, ist eine exakte Analyse des Wasserbedarfs und eine entsprechende Planung für eine langfristig hohe Qualität einer Anlage entscheidend.

Restriktive Dünge- und Pflanzenschutzmittelbestimmungen erfordern ein Design von Golfanlagen, welche diesen neuen Herausforderungen beim Greenkeeping gerecht werden. Die Auswahl von Büschen, Bäumen und Gräsern muss außerdem auf immer häufiger auftretende Hitzeperioden ausgerichtet sein. Gleichzeitig müssen Drainagesysteme so geplant werden, dass auch Starkregen und Unwetter nicht zu einem längeren Ausfall von Teilen des Golfplatzes führen.

Die Arbeitswelt „Golfplatz“ ist einem starken Wandel unterworfen, der mit der Entwicklung von E-Mobilität und Digitalisierung im Bereich des Greenkeepings und der Verwaltung zu tun hat. Wir sorgen dafür, dass eine Golfanlage zukunftsgerecht geplant ist und langfristig mit moderner Technik ausgerüstet ist. Egal, ob es um die Themen Beregnung, Belüftung oder die Größe der intensiven Pflegeflächen geht. Dies sorgt für mehr Freiräume im Bereich des Greenkeeping-Personals, das sich damit um die Qualitätssteigerung der Anlage kümmern kann.

Der Golfplatz als Lebensraum

Das grundlegende Verständnis für das Erlebnis Golf beinhaltet die Förderung der Natur. Zahlreiche wissenschaftliche Arbeiten zur Entwicklung von Biodiversität auf Golfplätzen belegen, dass diese Artenreichtum erhöhen. Gleichzeitig wird dadurch für den Golfer das Naturerlebnis auf der Anlage gesteigert und der Erholungseffekt wächst.

Wir begreifen den Golfplatz als Sportanlage hoher Qualität, die jenseits von Abschlägen, Fairways und Grüns einen perfekten Lebensraum für Fauna und Flora ermöglicht. Die Planung des Golfplatzes beinhaltet deshalb eine genaue Analyse der Flächen und Standorte, der Wasserverhältnisse und resultiert am Ende in einer harmonischen Kombination aus Golf und Natur.

de_DE_formalGerman